Sonia Velton

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century. Inside a tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of looms fills the attic, two women – the wife of a silk weaver and a former prostitute turned maid – forge an uneasy relationship beset by hypocrisy and secrets.

Sonia Velton grew up between the Bahamas and the UK. After graduating from university with a first class law degree she worked as a solicitor in discrimination law. She lived in the Middle East for eight years and now lives in Kent. Blackberry and Wild Rose, inspired by real characters and historical events, was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize as a work in progress, longlisted for the Mslexia novel competition, and is Sonia's first novel.