William Shaw

A darkly-told crime novel set in the rugged Kentish countryside and coastline, and in the tradition of Tana French and Ian Rankin, this is the first in the new DSI Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi series. A recent transfer from the London metropolitan police after a scandal sent her packing – resentful teenager in tow – a murdered migrant is the first big case for the embattled cop. Relocated to the lonely Kent coastline she finds that murder is different here, among the fens and stark beaches.

Shaw is the author of the acclaimed Breen & Tozer crime series: A Song from Dead Lips, A House of Knives, A Book of Scars and Sympathy for the Devil; and the standalone bestseller The Birdwatcher. He worked as a journalist for over twenty years and lives in Brighton.

William Shaw will be in conversation with Vicki Newham (Turn a Blind Eye).